Things I love Thursday

Larabars mmmm…tasty.

Parenthood we don’t have a lot of “shows” but this one has us for good. We love the family dynamics and we love analyzing the “parenting” strategies after the episode is done. And of course it gets us both crying. Every. Time. 😉

Cloud Atlas ok, this book was a mental exercise, but it was SO interesting and worth the time. One review that I read after the fact said “just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.” But I’m so glad he did! The author brilliantly wove a story through 6 different genres/time periods/novellas and it was quite an experience! It reminded me in some ways of Life of Pi in the way it wove themes about the human experience & spiritual connections – but it was a completely different story. I’m also pretty stoked to see the movie.

You are Your Child’s First Teacher wow, this book is so good (I’m about 1/3 of the way through). It is not about homeschooling but about how the most foundational moments of a child’s life are in the first 6 years. It is encouraging, empowering, and insightful. I’ve already learned things about N and her development that have helped me work through potential meltdowns and other things that have just helped me be more present with her. The thing I love about this book is it is totally accessible. She argues that a mother’s love is not about quantity but quality – and it is the most important thing in your child’s life regardless if you are a stay-at-home, working, or single mom!

Family Fridays Sam has been rearranging his schedule so we can spend some quality family time each week & we have already enjoyed a trip to the Zoo & this week I’m thinking maybe McQueens Orchard! I love growing our little family with him.

Things I DONT love:

Potty Training Boo! This is so not fun. I thought I had a potty prodigy on my hands…unfortunately, we’ve had to start over since Baby A has been born. We started a potty chart this week (Nor loves stickers) but even the promise of ice cream has not proved to be a motivation. It doesn’t help that she had a cold this week & has been an emotional wreck. Oh well… this too shall be a distant memory… some day…

2 thoughts on “Things I love Thursday

Leave a Reply

