Stuffed peppers with s(oy)sage

As promised, here is the “stuffed” peppers recipe that I modified from the original recipe my mom made when I was a kid (her original recipe was from Emeril, but I couldn’t find it anywhere online, so anyway…credit where credit is due). First you have to make Emeril’s special “seasonings” mixture (this is the most complicated part of the whole recipe, and SO worth it, I swear!):

“Special Spices” Ingredients: 
2 t. each – paprika, salt, and tarragon
1 t. each – dry thyme, cilantro, basil, garlic & onion powder, dry mustard, & black pepper
2 bay leaves (finely crumbled)

“Stuffed Peppers” Ingredients (approx): 
1 small onion (finely chopped)
1-2 celery stalks (finely chopped)
1 potato (grated)
4 bell peppers (*chopped into 1/2″ pieces or however you like)
3 cloves of garlic (minced)
1/4-1/2 c. vegetable broth
2 large portobella mushroom caps (coarsely chopped)
2 T. “Special Spices” & salt to taste
Brown rice (I used about 2 c. cooked rice, but as much or little as you like)
S(oy)sage (I used GimmeLean brand, from Meijer…not a whole food, but does keep this recipe vegan)

*I’m a one-dish sorta cook…one mixing bowl, one pan, etc. My husband may disagree (when he has to do the dishes) but I do strive to keep this self-imposed small-kitchen rule. For this recipe I chopped the peppers up (as opposed to stuffing & baking them) and turned it into a sort of “skillet” recipe. Easier & still yummy!

Directions: In a large cast-iron skillet heat your oil of choice (olive, coconut, butter, etc) on medium heat and saute the onions & celery until soft. Add the potato and stir frequently for a few minutes (my potatoes were sticking to the pan so I only cooked them a few minutes before adding the next ingredients). Add the peppers and garlic to the pan and continue to stir (3 mins). Add the vegetable broth, just enough to steam the veggies and help the potatoes not stick – you don’t want to make soup! Add the spices (stir) and then the mushrooms. Stir until the mushrooms soften and lower heat and cover.

I had already made brown rice for the week so I just added a few cups straight to the skillet. You could also keep it separate and just fill a bowl with rice, cooked greens & then top with the peppers. I also browned the sausage separately & just crumbled it over the top of the peppers – it was a nice addition, but you could obviously enjoy it without the faux meat as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

