Quiet morning…

Sitting quietly at Starbucks, enjoying my first iced (decaf) mocha of the summer and feeling my heart being held in the hands of a generous and steadfast God. How blessed & loved we are: a healthy pre-natal appointment, a car to get me where I need to go, a husband who cherishes friday mornings with our toddler, a safe city and home – shalom.

The contrast of my quiet life in midwest U.S. and the turmoil of places like Syria hold me in a tension that is hard to articulate or reconcile and the book that I brought with me for some quiet toddler-free reading is hitting me square in the chest.

What is God’s word for the world in which we live? Does he see justice and righteousness increasing among us? Is he saddened by our lack of compassion? Are there any who embrace his peace (shalom) and way of life? …I query those of us who know Christ as our life. Can God be pleased by the vast and increasing inequities among us? Is he not grieved by our arrogant accumulation, while Christian brothers and sisters elsewhere languish and die? Is it not obligatory upon us to see beyond the nose of our own national interest, so that justice may roll down like waters and righteousness like an everflowing stream? Is there not an obligation upon us to do justice, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with God if we want to live in this wonderful peace?

May we be thankful for all we have and know that it is enough… not for us alone, but for the good of all.

Leave a Reply

