Fave Five: Spring!

It’s a new season & I’m dying to update our Fave Five list! Honestly, our book circulation hasn’t changed that dramatically in the last few months but I’m just excited about this little tradition on the blog and I’m itching to post again. Most of these books have nothing really to do with “spring” but that’s ok – open some windows,  grab a glass of lemonade, and get reading! 🙂

The Tale of Peter Rabbit, by: Beatrix Potter This one is a springtime classic. Heartwarming story and lovely illustrations. My toddler has a thing for bunnies (though not the Nutbrown Hares for some reason) and this one is right up her alley. They even have a sweet “touch & feel” version with different characters from the story – fuzzy tails, soft whiskers, sticky paws.

The Belly Button Book, by: Boynton I just have a soft spot for all things Boynton. Her illustrations are hilarious, her rhyming couplets are sweet, and her stories are just silly enough that kids & adults alike will find something to smile about. This one is silly & sweet and has just the right amount of sing-along. (Our other recent favorite is the Barnyard Dance “…with a baa & a moo & a cock-a-doodle-doo, another little promenade two by two!”)

Wynken Blynken and Nod, by: Field This poem is just so soothing and I find it is the perfect addition to our bedtime routine. I don’t think we need to insult our toddler’s intelligence and only read from “I Spy” & picture books. They need good literature too!

Wynken, Blynken, and Nod one night
   Sailed off in a wooden shoe—
Sailed on a river of crystal light,
   Into a sea of dew…

Press Here, by Herve Tullet This book is just awesome and so creative. I guess you could call it an interactive book and each page gives the kiddos instructions for ways to manipulate and play with a simple yellow dot. (On one page there is a neat line of dots, but after “shaking” the book they are all jumbled on the following pages.) I recently read this with my own toddler and a 2 1/2 year old friend. They were both cracking up & so pleased to see the little balls “rolling” across the page.

The Napping House, by: Audrey Wood I love all the Woods books (our favorite being the Mouse and his strawberry!) and this one does not disappoint. My toddler loves to predict who will be next to climb into bed & its reminiscent of the classic children’s song “Ten in the Bed” which she also loves.

BONUS: ok, I know I’ve already exceeded my FIVE books, but for parents I would also recommend the following two books that I have grown to love in the past few months…

The Rhythm of Family, by: Amanda Blake Soule This book walks you through the seasons of a year with personal essays (from a mom & dad of 4 kiddos), family recipes, and crafts/projects for the whole family. It challenges you to keep your family connected to the natural world & find ways to celebrate each other & each unique season of the year! You can also get a taste of her style by visiting her blog.

Treasuring God in Your Traditions, by: Noel Piper This book has challenged me in so many ways. It not only inspires me to seek after God and truly treasure Him in my own life and heart, but to recognize the importance of building in rhythms and celebrations to pass this on to my children. Beautifully written and far from a “self-help” book, she simply challenges and inspires mothers to take their role as spiritual nurturer seriously. Amen!

Ok – I think that’s enough to keep you busy for a while 😉 Hope you find some time to get outside & enjoy this beautiful day today & happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Fave Five: Spring!

  1. Ah, Lindsey. I suspect that the intended audience of your “Fave Five” entries is parents of toddlers (or soon to be toddlers)….and they’re probably intended to be a sharing of ideas. I wanted to tell you, though, that both of these posts brought back wonderful memories for this mom of an 11 yr old. They have included books that Hudson and I loved when he was Nora’s age. “The Going to Bed Book” and “The Napping House” were read over and over and over in this house…I long for those days again…where he would climb up in my lap…he just fit there – he was so – – – compact. I remember my view, looking at the top of his head and seeing his dimpled hands point to the pictures and hearing him whisper quietly so he wouldn’t wake any of the nappers. At the same time, I cherish the time he and I spent this evening as we sat on the couch – next to each other (he did at least rest his head on my shoulder) as we read”The Book of Virtues for Young People.” We discussed the morals of the stories and what they meant to each of us. We talked about situations where we would need to call on the virtues mentioned in each section…and then he told me he wasn’t tired and didn’t want to go to bed (not everything has changed since he was 2). I suppose there will be a time in the not so distant future, that I will long for evenings like this one as well….Thank you for reminding me to live in the moment.

    • I’m not sure who my “intended audience” is 😉 but I’m so glad you read & your comment was such a blessing. I am just soaking up every quiet moment with her these days…but also looking forward to those evening “conversations” in a few years! 🙂 I was reading a post by Joy yesterday on raising teenage daughters & I’m very thankful that God has given me women/mothers to aspire to – Thanks for being one of them!

Leave a Reply

