Things I love Thursday

Mason Jars
When I was pregnant the first time around I had a thing for straws. I couldn’t drink without them. There was a perpetual plastic panera/starbucks/etc cup filled to the brim with ICE on my dresser, in the car, on the end table, in the refrigerator…! This time around it’s Mason Jars. I just love them…icy drinks, hot drinks, it doesn’t matter. Wide-mouth Mason Jars. I can’t explain it. And have you seen these?!?!?!? Yes, please.

Sock buns
So I finally tried it and I have to admit it’s pretty nice. And EASY.

Ebooks & Game of Thrones
After about a 6 month break I finally decided to start book 4: A Feast for Crows. I had to look up some of the characters on wiki…but I’m already sucked in again. On another note, ebooks are pretty great. I will never be able to part with the written word (I just finished the kindle version of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn & I loved it so much I’m asking for the hard copy for my birthday!) but it is pretty convenient.

Secret of Kells
This movie is not only a great story but the animation is incredible! It is so playful and whimsical, but also complex and tells a deeper story than most “cartoons”. I watched it about a year ago on netflix and decided to watch it with Norah during lunch yesterday, but parents be warned: there were some scary moments. This film is much more suitable for adults and has an interesting history lesson woven with breathtaking animation.

Organizing
If you are nesting: DO NOT go to BIG LOTS. Wow, I had no idea how hard it would be to not leave the store with every plastic container, woven basket, and pink toy they had in stock.

Homemade Maple Granola
I’ve been wanting to make my own granola for a while and finally tweaked a recipe I found here. Her recipe sounds delicious & I will try it soon, but I just wanted to use what I already
had in the house so I used it as a guide. Here is my recipe:

1 c. rolled oats
1 c. steel cut oats
1/2 c. raw cashews, chopped
1/4 c. sunflower seeds (unsalted)
1/8. coconut oil (melted)
1/4 c. maple syrup
3 T. brown sugar
1/4 t. salt

Mix all ingredients together & spread evenly on a baking sheet. Bake at 350F for 20 mins (stirring every 5-10 mins). Let cool & store in an air-tight container (her website says up to 2 weeks). This version was pretty tasty with some plain greek yogurt & honey. I’m eager to try it again…maybe add some cinnamon? slivered almonds instead of cashews? shredded coconut? craisins?

Happy Thursday – find something to love today!

Leave a Reply

