Ode to Summer: Tomato Pie

Today is a beautiful day to enjoy a mid-summer (I mean, mid-March) treat. This weather is really unbelievable and it has me dreaming of sun tans and gardening and reading by a pool. However, it is only March 21st so instead I decided to make myself a tomato pie. Oh yes, the deliciously southern delight where you fill a flaky pastry with sun-ripened tomatoes and cover it with mayo and cheese. AmAAAzing! The first time I enjoyed this savory pie was while working camp in Mississippi. Our lovely host, Mary Faith (double name, of course), made us a homemade pie and a spinach salad for lunch one steamy afternoon. I was introduced to countless southern dishes during my two summers working there, but this was hands down one of my favorites.

Enjoying an afternoon downpour with Chief Liz!

Kayaking Lake Anne. Perfect.

This recipe has been modified/adapted from Mary Faith’s original recipe and Smitten Kitchen …here you go:

Southern Tomato Pie Ingredients:
1 pie crust (homemade or from the box)
5 roma tomatoes – 1/4″ slices**
1 c. frozen or fresh corn
1/2 c. chopped fresh greens (I used spinach & kale)
1 T. (or so) fresh chopped chives (mine survived the winter – this recipe would only be better with fresh BASIL!)
Salt & Pepper to taste
1/3 c. mayo
2 T. fresh lemon juice
1 c. shredded cheese (I used cheddar & colby)
**I layer them with paper towels as I’m slicing so they are not so juicy – no one likes a soggy pie. You could also blanch & peel them if you were feeling adventurous.

Directions: Preheat oven to 375F, drape the crust into a 9″ pie pan (I used deep dish) & mix the mayo and lemon juice in a small bowl. Start layering: Place one layer of sliced tomatoes on the bottom (about 1/2 the total), 1/2 c. frozen corn, all the chopped greens, some salt & pepper and 1/2 the cheese. Layer the remaining tomatoes, corn, chives (more salt & pepper), and top with the mayo mix (dollop it & spread around) and remaining cheese. 

This time I folded the edge of the crust over gallette-style and it was perfect. You could also top it with another crust if you wanted (cut vents for the steam). Place in the oven and bake for 40 minutes or until golden and bubbly. Let cool/set for 5 minutes before slicing.

Enjoy hot with an ice-cold sun tea! Summer-time bliss.

2 thoughts on “Ode to Summer: Tomato Pie

Leave a Reply

