Quiet afternoons

I’ve enjoyed some very peaceful and quiet afternoons the past few days. I decided to fast from “screens” during nap time so I could find spend more intentional time reading or praying. So far I haven’t missed the constant “connection” that the laptop or phone or iPad usually affords me and I’ve made some real progress in a number of books I’ve been wanting to read. A few times I’ve caught myself wanting to check my email or look up a recipe during the afternoon, but if I just sit in the quiet space for a minute the feeling usually passes. This weekend I was also challenged to just sit in my “feelings” of self-denial (we so seldom do!) – what’s wrong with feeling a little bored? a little hungry? Our lives are shaped around our comfort and so often we put little thought toward why we do the things we do, or the pace with which we do them. I want to rush through nap time and get as much accomplished as possible. I have a mile-long “to do” list and half a dozen books or websites to read, meals to prepare, laundry to do, or blog posts to draft. 😉 It has been so refreshing to just sit and reflect and pray and feel little baby somersaults.

“Lead us back, our Father, to your Torah;
bring us near, our King, to your service,
and cause us to return in perfect repentance before you.
Blessed are you, O Lord, who accepts repentance.”
[from the Amidah]

May you have a quiet & peace-filled March 1st.
…only 20 days until spring!

One thought on “Quiet afternoons

Leave a Reply

