4 years and counting!

“How time can move both fast and slow…it amazes me.” Like so many things bright eyes says so well, I have been overwhelmed the last few days with how precious each moment is with the ones I love. Yesterday, Sam & I celebrated our 4th anniversary. It’s hard to believe we have been together for 5 years!

Sam & I met December 5, 2006 and were married on a beautiful & blizzard-y evening one year later. December 16, 2007 proved to be a record snowfall starting Saturday night at our rehearsal dinner and continuing non-stop through the night. On Sunday morning, nearly every church in NW Ohio was cancelled and I sat staring out my parent’s kitchen window at (literally) feet of snow, while my fiance was nearly an hour away at his mom’s house doing the same. I wouldn’t say I was panicking, but I definitely had a few moments of wondering if we should just meet halfway at our pastor’s house and be done with it and save everyone the trouble of risking their necks. In the end, everything went on without a hitch. In fact, I could not have dreamed of a more beautiful night …or a more perfect choice for a honeymoon location (Cancun!).

This time of year always hums with anticipation and I am blessed to have one more beautiful thing to celebrate on top of it all. I not only reminisce about childhood Christmas songs and traditions and plan new ones for my own children, but I can look back on promises made and sacred vows spoken and remember that my life and dreams and traditions will forever be connected to his. That our life is one.

It has been an amazing 4 years of life and adventure and learning to love…and I would do it all over again!

Leave a Reply

