NaNo Mid-Month Update

Here it is, November 17th, a little over halfway through the month and my present word-count: 25,038. Why did my brain choose the halfway point to shut down?
You would think seeing that magical 50% mark would have given me a jolt of creative energy, but instead I’ve wallowed through the last few days coming up with every excuse to NOT sit down and write – including updating this blog! It’s not that I don’t like my story anymore – I still do – but I’m not sure exactly what to have my characters do next. And I think there is also some fear involved: the fear that I don’t know what I’m doing & I’m going to blow this whole project with a really lame, anti-climactic ending. All this build-up for… blah.

It’s very fitting that today I found a NaNo “Pep Talk” in my inbox and it ended with this timely encouragement: “The good days are when you perform; the slow days are when you learn to perform better. The only bad days as a writer are the ones when you are too cowardly or too lazy to sit down at the keyboard and give it everything you have. If you can sit down at the keyboard every day in November and give it everything you have, then there is no writer on earth who is better than you.” (Thank you, Mr. Cleave!)

So, with that, I’m going to plunge bravely ahead into the desolate wilderness that is the “end” of my novel and even if I only get 100 words on the page tonight…at least I sat down and gave it all I got (or all I have left).

“Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working.” – Pablo Picasso

2 thoughts on “NaNo Mid-Month Update

  1. All true, Lindsey. If you’re stuck, a hint I can give you is this: Put your main character into MORE trouble! Seriously, think about what else bad or challenging can happen to him or her and continue on from there. Love you!

Leave a Reply

