Toddler crayons!

So apparently, Norah has reached the point in her development (according to BabyCenter.com) where she can begin to color! They send me these updates every couple weeks with tips/helpful feedback/ideas/milestones/etc of where my “toddler” should be in her development. I sometimes find time to glance through them but more often than not they disappear into the purgatory of my inbox. 

However, when I saw this particular milestone I got excited about the thought of little art projects & creative exploration with her and so I immediately set out for the nearest thrift store to make her some JUMBO crayons! I think I may have gotten this idea from pinterest (not really sure?) but it was easy enough…

Step 1: Buy a cheap box of crayons or scrape together an assortment of broken/unloved crayons that you already have at home (under the car seats, behind the couch, in the bottom of random drawers) – I got mine at Savers for 99 cents!)

Step 2: Remove the paper & break up your crayons into ~1/4″ pieces

Step 3: Put your pieces of crayon into a mini muffin tin (also for 99 cents at Savers, but if you already have one – even better!) No need to line them, but I suppose you could if you wanted less clean up.

Step 4: Bake your crayons until they melt together (I used similar colors together, but I’ll bet rainbow would be neat too) – Most of the “recipes” I found online had you bake them at a low temp (200ish) for about 15 mins. but mine wouldn’t melt that easily so I ended up jacking the heat to 300ish and baking them for an extra 10 mins. After I turned up the heat I just kept an eye on them until they melted.

Step 5: Cool & Color!!

These were super easy & Norah had as much fun stacking & sorting them as she did coloring with them. They seemed a little waxy which may have been a result of buying cheap crayons or from my impatience with the baking temp. Not sure, but regardless, they worked fine.

Also note: I taped the paper to the table with painter’s tape 😉 much easier for her to focus on coloring and not ripping the paper to shreds! Just remove the tape slowly.

One thought on “Toddler crayons!

  1. Pingback: Rhythms of Family: February | Love & Stories

Leave a Reply

