Things I love Thursday

Homemade Play-Doh!
Seriously, this stuff is amazing. So fluffy & soft…AND doesn’t make your hands smell weird after. I asked the little one what color she wanted and she said “Boo!” :) The recipe I found came from HowDoesShe? and I had all the ingredients in my pantry. If you’re thinking of making multiple colors I would suggest maybe cutting the recipe in half or else you will end up with a LOT of play-do. Our batch lasted 2 weeks (before it started sprouting mold**) and it was still soft & wonderful! Give ‘em a plastic knife and some pipe cleaners and let them go to town. **I didn’t think about it before, but maybe it should be kept in the fridge?

Quinoa
I know…I know…who doesn’t these days? But I seriously love how versatile it is and the fact that it cooks up SO easily. I always seem to find a way to destroy rice…too crunchy, too sticky, too clumpy, etc. but I don’t think it’s humanly possible to ruin quinoa. Oh, and it’s a complete protein – Bonus. Here are some of my fave recipes:

McDonald’s Iced Coffee
Shhhhh….don’t tell.

Planning my garden(s)
…and dreaming of “naturalized” chain link fences in my back yard! It is so satisfying to plan out our yard & especially to see little seedlings emerge. Our grass sprouts are growing their little heads off and it is amazing to watch. We were so nervous about it…for some reason we had this idea that grass seed is like impossible to grow…but it is GROWING! It will be a little more difficult to actually put my plans into action (considering I just entered my THIRD TRIMESTER!!!! HURRAY!) but I am forcing myself to focus on quality, not quantity, this year. ;)

Journaling
I go through phases with journaling, sort of like my writing in general. I will feel a moment’s inspiration and it will turn into the beginning of a novel or poem or short story…that will then sit unopened & unfinished for…well…ever. But recently I’ve been trying to journal (non-fiction & informal) consistently for the past few weeks – and more importantly starting one for each of my girls. I can’t wait to fill them with memories and stories and prayers and dreams. I’m sure I will never run out of things to write about these two little sweets.

Oh baby, I am in love.

4 thoughts on “Things I love Thursday

  1. My mom made homemade play-doh too…because I was a play-doh eater. No harm in eating the kind that comes from your pantry. :) Maybe that is where I developed my love of salt! :)

Leave a Reply

